Little Falls Book
It's available at Gansevoort House Books at Canal Place, area bookstores, independent retailers, and online retailers, or through Arcadia Publishing at (888)-313-2665 or www.arcadiapublishing.com.
Book Description:Nestled in a deep gorge along the Mohawk River, Little Falls first came into being as a village in 1811 and became Herkimer County's only city in 1895. With its close proximity to main routes of transportation via the Erie Canal system and railroad, as well as its access to waterpower from the Mohawk River, Little Falls became a manufacturing leader and Herkimer County's largest populated area. It was famous nationwide for its cheese market and innovations in dairy and cheese manufacturing equipment. It was the site of one of the worst train wrecks in the history of the New York Central Railroad, boasts the sixth-highest lift lock in the world, and is the hometown of a famous radio personality who started the televised dance show Twist-A-Rama in the 1960s.
Author Bio: Susan R. Perkins is the executive director and Caryl A. Hopson is the administrative assistant at the Herkimer County Historical Society. With the help of volunteers, they have selected some of the best images from the society's photographic collection, as well as from the collections of community members and organizations, to create Images of America: Little Falls.
Little Fall's Sesquicentennial. During the week of July 22-29, 1961, a huge celebration
commemorated the 150th anniversary of Little Falls' incorporation. Mayor John W. George oversaw
the week‚??s events with celebration chairman Dr. Fred Sabin. The event kicked off with a huge
parade with at least 25,000 people lined along the route, which took over two hours to traverse.
The grand marshal was Alton C. Millen. The lower picture shows the New York Telephone
float with a princess telephone on the front. Riding on the float were telephone employees Ann
Murphy Billings (left), Magdalen Kohn Gressler (right), and Eleanor Grande Karpowich (back).
(Above, courtesy of LFHS; below, courtesy of Magdalen Gressler.)
St. Mary's Academy and Convent. Workers used Little Falls stone to construct a Catholic
school in 1889. In 1903, a modern convent for the Sisters of St. Joseph was constructed beside it.
Though a 1911 addition nearly doubled the school's size, the high school closed in 1970, and K-8
classes ceased in 1988. From left to right, this overhead view shows the church, the convent, and
St. Mary's Academy. (Courtesy of LFHS.)
Little Fall s Boys Basketball Team, 1925-1926. From left to right, the LFHS squad shown
here features (first row) Francis "Humpy" Meade and Morris Goldstein; (second row) Donald
Mang, Stanley Rawson, coach Harvey Mills, Oscar Kuhl, and Leon Van Alstyne; (third row)
Donald Murray and Charles Clingen. (Courtesy of LFHS.)
Little Fall s Hardware. This popular hardware store was owned by Edwin Metott (1914-1995)
and his wife, Amelia (1915-1974). Originally located at 307 South Second Street in the 1950s, the
store moved to 517 East Main Street in 1965 with a grand opening, shown here. By the early 1970s,
the store had moved to Route 5S between Little Falls and Herkimer. Today the store, run by Jim
Metott, is located at 528 East Main Street in Little Falls. (Courtesy of Little Falls Hardware.)